Hot or Cold Water?

H-Man

I am relatively new to all this, trying to read around etc - most people say to use warm water when shaving to open pores etc but I came across this from a famous Melbourne barber who works in an upmarket mens clothing store:
"The secret is to get those stiff peaks of foam and to ONLY use cold water. Don’t shower first to soften the beard." - I was surprised by this as it goes against what most people say?

The plain truth is that if you don't soften the bristles, it will most likely be a painful shave.

I've done it without showering first, with a dry face and applying the cream and it felt like the blade was pulling at the bristles, not gliding through them.

BUT: the most consistent fact about DE shaving is this: what works for one person will almost certainly not give the same result for another person.

You should try it both ways, if only to see for yourself what is the best method for you.

I prefer to shower first, scrub my face with Nivea Young face wash and then NOT drying off my face, but allowing the excess water to run off while I prepare my lather.

While I am in the shower, my Semogue 830 sits in the sink immersed in warm water. Not hot; warm.

I shake off the excess water from the brush with precisely three shakes and then start working the lather in the bowl.

So the brush is warm, I add maybe three or four drops as needed to the bowl as I work it.

This is what my brush looks like then:

IMG_1746.jpg

After three passes I have still got enough in the bowl to get this sort of lather left over:

IMG_1748.jpg

That's using warm not hot water, and using an almond sized nugget of cream.

Barbers are full absolutes and hard and fast 'rules'. Surprising really, if they still actually shave lots of different faces for a living.

IME, hot or cold water makes no differences to quality of lather. But stiff peaks can suggest one that is far to dry and 'sticky'.