It's been a year of shaving

bodge

I realised that I have now been traditional shaving for just over a year. So I thought I'd throw some 1 year old wisdom out there.

I'm early forties, had a full coarse beard and delicate skin which had caused me difficulties from when I first started shaving. Being a tech type person (no customer facing) I had been lucky to be able to do the 5 day, 10 day, 20 day growth without any employment issues.

Motivation: My wife likes it when I'm clean shaved. Personally, I was also sick and tired (and embarrassed maybe) of not being able to do a daily shave which seemed so easy for every other guy on the planet.

So I started googling and found suggestions towards DE shaving for those with skin issues. This led me to YKW and a billion threads of blather. In amongst that I found a starting formula/procedure and some videos. If you are a complete noob who has never tried trad shaving, the mantic guy videos are a good way to see the general principals involved. There is no exact way to show you how to shave your own face but those vids give you ideas. I can't remember exactly how I found paste and cut, but I was very glad I did. The info was condensed, to the point, somewhat irreverent, and the plug is definitely not inserted so I don't have to wear a monocle to fit in.

So began the journey. I remember feeling unsure because there is info saying do this, don't do that, stick with one combo unless it doesn't work for you but you have no experience so how do you know? That soap is best/shit, this blade razor combo is the best/worst/sharpest/dullest although YMMV, if so, try something else but stick with it.

For beginners - any basic brush, any basic soap, a functional middle of the road razor, any of the blades you can find on mensbiz*(see footnote) and watch the videos on youtube. Stop lurking and start a thread here on the paste and cut welcome mat.