new shaver

atozer

Hey guys,
I'm new in these parts. Had my fifth shave today (DE shave that is). Normally I only shave every second day but I took delivery of some Otoko soap yesterday and couldn't wait. I got cocky with a Merkur 42 (1904) with a green 7 o'clock blade (second use). It got to the point where the pencil was just smearing blood around the place. Close shave though. Not much skin is left either, what is left is glowing red and clearly exposed to air a few weeks premature. I think I'll let what skin I have left rest until Saturday when I have to go to a wedding.

Hi Atozer.

Welcome to Paste and Cut.

Sounds like you got a nasty bit of razor burn there, along with some bark removed.

Title

I should point out that my four prior DE shave were just dandy.;) I saw Mantic do the polish or buff or something, anyway I thought I would try and it felt alright while I was doing it but it takes about 15 seconds for the blood to shine through.

Last edited:
Hello and welcome. Just go slow, don't use any more pressure than is needed to hold the razor to your face and tilt the head back towards your skin a bit more. Just go the single pass to start with and don't get caught up in the baby butt smooth retoric. A single pass will give you a pretty smooth appearance and the reality is that most regular shavers don't go all out for the super smooth three pass shave every single time.

Hi mate

Take it easy, blood letting gets old very soon. Your face probably isn't quite used to daily shaving either. I always find I get great results after skipping a day, but rarely have the self control to do that.

Forget the results and fancy techniques for now, and work on your lather and the basics. Get to know your gear well and it'll all happen sooner.