Pre shave variations

possumbelly

[No giant lemons here]
So I tried the Myrsol Emulsion as a preshave as suggested by @Draco Noir and @Lifes a Peach. It seemed to work well - was certainly very protective. I'd be interested in hearing other people's views on various things though.

I've been using Proraso green as a preshave for 2-3 years now. I found that I prefer to actually wash it off before lathering. If I don't I experience a "drag" type of sensation with my razor and a drying effect on the lather. In using the Emulsion, I left it on under the lather and had the same dragging and drying sensation that I have experienced with the Proraso when I don't wash it off.

My usual routine is to shave straight after a shower following a good soapy facial wash. Preshaves shouldn't add a huge amount in theory, but I have found that my shaves are much better with the Proraso pre shave. In applying it then washing it off, it seems to leave a nice layer of hydration on my face before the first lather. The menthol also stimulates my face nicely. I only use a very small amount so I don't think it's the volume of product I'm using.

In any case, washing it off works well for me and I will stick with this approach. Just curious though.

Do others wash off their preshave or leave it on underneath their first lather?

I am currently using an @Occams pre-shave bar. In lieu of a shower, I have been using it with a hot face towel. Rub over my face then lather it by hand. I put the hot towel directly on top and let it sit for a while. I don't wash off the lather but just build my next lather directly on top.

I have noticed a "waxy" feeling with the Proraso Green Pre-shave cream - especially when used with MWF.
Had never thought to wash it off prior to applying lather, but I will give it a try.