Replacing scales?

I know. I doubt it is... he is a welder by trade, so every tool is BIGGER!

I'll just go to the hardware in Pinjarra and get a baby one if I have to. No bother.

This should be interesting, and possibly fun. I might put the blade on the stones before I go. That way it will be basically shave ready once the scales are replaced.

Might I suggest that you don't hone the blade before attaching the scales - you only have more chances of
a. damaging the edge and
b. damaging yourself while working on the scales.
Here is what I use to peen my pins
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2oz-Ball...ree-Postage-/391257997557?hash=item5b18cb40f5
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/All-Purp...ree-Postage-/381397492781?hash=item58cd0fe42d
Don't forget - many light taps rather than a few heavy ones and always polish the ball so as to get a good finish on the pins
Hope this helps

if your really worried about the hammer slipping could always use a punch instead of just the hammer straight out if your more comfortable. i guess it all comes down to how stable you can get it all sitting before hammering.
personally i'd rather spend 30 minutes getting it all in place nice and solid before i start hitting then have it a bit wobbly and regret it after the hammer slips and messes something up

Nice tips here :)

Sheesh! You'd think I could get a small Ball-Pein hammer from Bunnings or Masters. Nope. And even less success from the little guys. And I sincerely doubt that it is a Perth thing, too.

Thank you, @Havachat45 , eBay was my next landing spot, and you have saved me a search.

One last thing. Without looking in the box again, to me the pin seems quite long on this scale set. Is it going to be a problem to snip the pin shorter, if it does turn out to be too long? I'm assuming that it is deliberately longer, to accommodate all blade widths.