Review: Omega Professional No. 49 (10049)

Mong.

doesn't care for Euro Palmolive
Group Buy Associate
2015 Sabbatical
Omega Pro #49 (10049) Review

Specs:
Overall height: 128mm
Knot: 27mm
Loft: 65mm
Handle height: 63mm

This is a whole lot of brush. The 49 is made in Italy as a part of Omega's 'Professional' line of undyed pure boar bristle brushes. This one hails from the famous Mustafa Center in Singapore, where it was purchased for a little under $10. I've been using this infrequently for the last four months with a range of different types of soaps.

This brush didn't receive any particularly special treatment when I got it, just a couple of quick lathers with some dish soap to get rid of the funky boar smell. In terms of getting rid of the smell, the dish soap was only halfway effective. I'd still recommend doing it, if for no other reason than to start off with a clean and slightly less pungent brush. Plus, the more you lather with it, the sooner the brush will begin to soften...

The knot is still a bit wet above.

Some of the bristles began to split after the first couple of lathers, but for the most part, it wasn't until around the seventh or eighth shave that the bristles had noticeably softened and were visibly split. I also expected the brush to have bloomed a little more than it has, but the tighter knot and density does help when loading hard soaps. Speaking of desirable traits in brushes used with soaps, the backbone in this thing is incredible. Despite the high loft and broken in tips, the bristles have remained fairly rigid and uncompromising. Unlike my badger brushes, the 49 has a brilliant soft scrubbiness on my face. It's not scratchy at all, and the resistance provided by the knot as the soft tips scrub your skin is a nice and luxurious feeling. Throughout the breaking in process there was a small amount of shedding, but it adds up to about ten hairs across four months. I think that's pretty good, considering the way I scrub it on my face.