A Return to DE Shaving

thw

Hello everyone. Another newbie here. I finally rebelled against the outrageous cost of multi-blade cartridges and recently obtained the Edwin Jagger DE89L. My intent had been to save some money on blades, but, alas, within ten days I had obtained a brand-new Merkur Progress along with a sample pack of blades. Both are excellent razors, but I am finding the shorter handle of the Progress more to my liking. It is currently loaded with the Gillette Silver Blue blades and is on its fourth shave on the first blade tried, using shaving soap and a generic brush).

What ever became of my plan to save a bit on blades? Now I already have my eye on acquiring the highly recommended Gillette Fat Boy. What to do?

What ever became of my plan to save a bit on blades? Now I already have my eye on acquiring the highly recommended Gillette Fat Boy. What to do?

You have not spent money mate, you have made an INVESTMENT!

The EJ DE89L, Progress and Fatboy are tools which will last a lifetime. Go on, check out the life tables here, work out how long you are expected to live and amortise the cost of these over that period. See, they really don't cost much at all! Factor in that they can be passed on to children and you are creating a legacy - not spending money on a consumable.

Now we have that out of the way, how can we helkp you invest in other tools, such as brushes, or yourself through quality soaps, creams and aftershaves :)

Welcome to P&C too (y)

welcome to "saving money" hahahaha ive spent more on this hobby in the past 3 months then i have in 3 years of dry shaving haha

Welcome @thw - great to have you here (y)