Alum and Witch Hazel.... when to use?

StratMan

instead of hijaking the shave of the day thread i thought best to post my question here

i just learnt (thanks to todras) the effects of using additional witch hazel on his AS splashes and the general effects on the skin.

I am new to DE shaving and automatically purchased both products due to the praises they both received on various forums, now i am questioning the need to of bothered with these products in the first place.

todras reply is in quotes below. My question here is does Alum have the same effects as witch hazel? does this apply to all splashes or just APR, and when should one or both of these be used during a post shave?

cheers

"My aftershave formulation has more than sufficient Witch Hazel in it, if you skip the thayers you will get longer duration from the fragrance in my splash :)"

"Witch Hazel does not hydrate the skin, it does the exact opposite by tightening the pores and removing oils from the skin.

Witch Hazel can be extremely drying to the skin, it is an astringent and using too much of it will simply stimulate excessive oil production by your skin to counter the drying effects of the tannic compounds. Many of the aftershave/splashes on the market contain way, way to much Witch Hazel and that is why compounded with the effects of the ETOH they are as harsh as buggery.

If you use extra witch hazel with my splash all you are doing is removing the perfume that is contained within the splash from the surface of your skin, when I formulated the AP Reserve splash base it took months to achieve the correct balance of witch hazel to aftershave solution. With my splash you have just enough to experience the beneficial effect of Witch Hazel without overly drying the skin or destroying the longevity and sillage of the perfume.

All AP Reserve aftershaves contain exactly the same composition with the exception being the addition of menthol for some releases."