Buying watches from O/S

nathan1983

Hi guys

I am looking at buying another watch, I have zero knowledge of purchasing items from O/S as I much prefer to buy locally and at times pay a little more. However I am looking at purchasing a new Seiko SSC377P-9 http://m.seiko.com.au/watch/ssc377p-9

With some haggling today I can get it for $660, I had a look online tonight and I found it on eBay for AU$400 landed.

So my questions are: if I buy from the US via eBay am i still getting a genuine product? do they have different product runs per country?

I know a few of you are mad keen watch fans and overseas buyers so hopefully I can understand a little better

Nathan

Why the US mate? Likely a better deal from Singapore or even Japan...
skywatches
global ratuken
....etc.

For Seiko watches the first 6 digits are the model of the watch. The next letter indicates where it was assembled or what market it is for. I think the last number indicates the type of bracelet or strap that fires with that model.
So in your case it's a SeikoSolarCore model number 377
P= assembled in Singapore (K is usually Malaysia or Korea, and J is for the Japanese domestic market)
And the 9 (I think) is for the bracelet style.

As far as watch collectors go, the J Japanese Domestic Market models are considered superior for some reason, (although no testing I've read indicates that is actually the case). Indeed many of these are even manufactured in the aforementioned other countries and are just assembled in Japan. J marked watches get a considerable markup compared to those with a K or P suffix.

While that doesn't answer your question completely it should give you the rough idea that most Seikos are going to be very similar no matter where in the world you but them, but I'd you want one that was destined for the JDM expect to open you're wallet that little bit more.

Hi guys