Cuff Links

JugV2

Simply boring.
Does anyone here use cuff links on a regular basis?

I've just started to...bought my first set on Ebay recently for a massive $7!

Are they just wank factor or do you think they are classy?

Personally I think wearing double cuffed shirts and cuff links = WANKER.

Just what are you trying to prove?

This could depend on the job you do with some industries expecting/requiring you to look like a tool. Those are industrieds I would never work in, I am a manager in a chem lab and can wear jeans to work.

Are they just wank factor or do you think they are classy?

This really comes down to the circumstances in which you wear them and your own personal style. I switched jobs at the start of the year and invested quite a lot in a corporate-suitable wardrobe, but even having done that I can't pull off cuff links for every day business wear. I look like a twat trying to dress beyond my years. For formal occasions though, I have two tailored white shirts with french cuffs, so I picked up three sets of cuff links to match those and they look quite good. I have a few 'rules' for when I wear them though. Firstly, if I'm not wearing a jacket or blazer and a watch, no cuff links. Ever. Secondly, they should be understated and complimentary to your watch, belt buckle and the buttons on your jacket. If you wear a wedding ring or any other jewelry, make sure they match the cuff links too. Nothing looks worse than a mix of metals. Thirdly, I steer clear of themed or coloured ones because they're hard to match and can look a little tacky. If you do go down a themed path though, opt for something personal to you. I have a plain silver set with a celtic knot that I wear to family events, and they work because they're not lavish and reflect my heritage. Your footy club logo doesn't need to be on your wrist, for example.