Review Feather Artist Club DX non-folding

RazorPlay

I am probably overdue posting up these thoughts on this razor "system" - not really a proper review but you get the idea. First, some background:
- I have been wet shaving for decades but just with a cheap synth, Palmolive stick and two blade disposable
- I had no idea at all what I was doing during that time
- So I am not an expert and this review is written from the perspective of a complete newb jumping straight into what many consider to be the deep end of this shaving hobby...

I am about 80 shaves into using this razor from scratch. I haven't had any major cuts. There has only been once when I cut myself sufficiently to warrant the use of styptic gel after the shave. So, while I have been careful (this razor demands respect), I have had no more issues than I would generally expect from using any other razor - I would have weepers on average on less than half of my shaves and I generally aim for BBS...

OK, so this razor is expensive. I got mine through B/S/T here so it wasn't too bad. However the SS version (which I haven't tried) is available now from TSW very reasonably for a stainless razor. The SS version has a bump along the edge of the blade holder and opinions vary as to whether it helps or not. My DX doesn't and I wanted that to get a lower angle for going ATG as I like my BBS shaves.

The three blades I have tried have all given me 15+ shaves per blade. They are:
- Kai Guarded - great shaves, no cuts but more passes required for the same result ie a "mild" blade in the context of this razor (still aggressive compared to a DE). Has a "scratchy" feel to it due to the Guards which can leave a very slight irritation but it's hardly worth mentioning.
- Feather Pro - very sharp and aggressive, especially on the first few shaves where a cut is quite likely despite being careful. Smooths out later on but still demands most attention.