Haven't started yet.

jono

Hi everyone, I'm Jono. I'm completely new to the scene, but pretty eager to get started.

Whether you are using double edge (DE or safety) razors or straight (or cut-throat) razors
Cartridge. Pretty excited to move away from these.

What soaps / creams / aftershaves you have and/or like
Just water (don't hate me!) - but I'm looking to actually take more care of my skin now.

How long you have been wet shaving
Completely new to it, but have been watching so many videos.

Where you are in the world, more or less, exact GPS co-ordinates are NOT required (we have members from across Australia and the world)
Melbourne, Victoria. Based in the western suburbs, so if anyone can recommend a local honer, please let me know.

Why you started and how you have found the process so far.
I've always been interested in straight edge shaving, but was always quite nervous about it. That said, I'm feeling much more confident now (I think WFH means I don't need to worry about how long it takes me to get ready), and I'm quite eager to get started.

A little bit more information:
I've been looking at good starter shaving sets/kits, but I'm a little unsure what to look for. I tried to find a beginner's guide here, but my search results yielded nothing - if anyone can find one, please help me. I've been looking at the GD ones, but I'm not entirely convinced. The kit from beardandblade has caught my eye, and it's around $240 after the Christmas discount. Would anyone recommend anything else?

welcome @jono, enjoy your stay..

sorry cant help you with Straights.. but any questions regarding soaps/aftershave and DE shaving happy I am to help

G’day @jono
Welcome aboard mate,
Any questions don’t hesitate asking,
I do have a few vintage str8s on my site but a lot more not on it,
if you want a str8 beginner set we can arrange some options and all will be truely shave ready and tested when sent.