Hello from Newcastle

Hi everyone,

I've been shaving with a DE for about 2 years now. I've managed to keep myself from buying much stuff (I don't know how much longer that will last).

My current setup is:
Muhle R89
Muhle synthetic silvertip brush
Barrister & Mann Reserve Classic (only a sample, but definitely buying a tub)
Nivea sensitive aftershave balm

I've been trying multiple different blades, but haven't found much I like more than Astras.

I also have a couple of vintage straights (a Bengall and a Walker & Hall with "The Sydney" etched into the blade) that my grandmother used to own as she was a hairdresser, and then went on to teach it at TAFE. I have plans to get those cleaned up and honed in the near future.

Cheers

Welcome @Semicolonbanks !

We can certainly help you acquaire more kit here :)

Those straights you have sound great. I have a straight, stop and hair clippers from my father in law's grandfather - a barber in Penrith. Nice to have

Welcome @Semicolonbanks !

We can certainly help you acquaire more kit here :)

Those straights you have sound great. I have a straight, stop and hair clippers from my father in law's grandfather - a barber in Penrith. Nice to have

The only thing that's stopped me from acquiring more kit so far is the fact that I am not on a particularly high salary.

There were a few other cool finds at her house. There was an old pair of Dovo scissors (which I gave to my best mate who is also my barber), and there was a rolls razor which I'm not sure where it ended up (not to mention the 20 odd bottles of old port and other grog in the linen cupboard).

Welcome @Semicolonbanks, now how can we start your RAD (razor acquisition disorder)?
B&M soaps are the go to for me and easily obtained locally. Aussie soaps are fantastic and on par.

Welcome @Semicolonbanks, now how can we start your RAD (razor acquisition disorder)?
B&M soaps are the go to for me and easily obtained locally. Aussie soaps are fantastic and on par.