Hello from Perth Western Australia

Trapezoid

Hello

A couple of posters over at whirlpool.net.au directed me here.

I am completely new to DE safety razors. The choice was made for environmental and minimising plastic reasons as my previous razor, a Gillette Sensor3, gave me perfect results and had no other reason to change. Bought a Wahl safety razor from the local shaver shop here in Perth, WA. Got a pack of Wilkinson Classic and Feather blades to go with it and a styptic pen. Skimped on the brush, bowl and cream due to budget. No point buying something only not to like it and be a few more dollars out.

However, even with canned cream, I enjoyed my first DE shave and will be getting the other accessories sooner rather than later. First shave was 2 days ago and second shave was today. The result is quite acceptable and better than expected even with my lack of skill. Granted there were nicks and blood (that styptic pen stings like a bitch!) but I will continue. Shaving now feels like an actual skill to be had and enjoyed as opposed to being a typical chore.

So far with these 2 shaves I have given myself a better shave on my head than my face. Better being less nicks, no redness, bumps or discomfort. I will be trying the feather blades in couple of days to see if it is my lack of skill or whether the Wilkinson blades don’t like my face.

Anyways thanks for reading
Daniel

Welcome @Trapezoid you have come to the right place!
You will find many answers in here but remember the saying YMMV (Your Milage May Vary) will always apply....
I'm not a head shaver but there are plenty of guys in here who are and will give tips i'm sure.