New Honing set up...HELP!!

the_shaving_sailor

2018 Sabbatical
hey guys im looking to get set up so i can start sharpening straight razors.

ive got a 10 pack of gold dollars on the way for practise and was wondering what grits of stones i should buy.

now im only a beginner so i dont want to go buy really expensive japanese or arkansas stones ill be buying mid range priced synthetic stones and strop. i already have a very good quality 1000 grit stone what other grits should i get.

cheers in advance.

I use a 1k for setting the bevel, 4K/8K combi stone for midrange, and finish off with on 8k and 12K. Bought cheap low grit combo stones from China but the 8k & 12K are Naniwa speciality stones.

Couldn't get a good edge with a 8/10k welsh dragon tongue, even using paste and stropping my heart out.

Synthetic? Here is an exerpt from another thread here which I will find at some stage from the resident honemeister;

Chosera 1k - This is my preferred bevel setter, use this for setting a bevel.
What is setting a bevel? It is removing metal to grind in a new primary edge to prepare it for refining. The 1k is obviously an aggressive stone for straight razors but it's highly required and it is the most important stone in any honing set. 90% of your work is involved in setting the bevel, the rest is just removing scratches and polishing.