So who's a muso?

Mong.

doesn't care for Euro Palmolive
Group Buy Associate
2015 Sabbatical
I thought I'd make a thread for the musically talented (or not) among us. I started playing about half way through high school, I was fortunate enough to have an absolute tremendous teacher who taught me to appreciate good music and quality playing rather than a curriculum. That became problematic a few years later when I started playing in the jazz ensemble and the senior school stage band, but I caught up and was fortunate enough to tour a few times with the ensemble and with my teacher as a backing player in a band called the Jazz Hats.

When I got to year 12, I dropped out of my musical commitments quite a bit and never really recovered until about a year ago. I blame this on a nightmare day in 2008. We had just finished rehearsing in the school studio for the end of year school meeting, which was held annually at Hamer Hall at the Arts Center in Melbourne. It's a phenomenal sounding room, so I was bouncing off the walls with excitement at getting to rip some huge chords out of my Les Paul. My joy was short-lived. I propped my guitar against a bench so I could grab the hard case, and as I turned, I experienced a slowing of time as the Les Paul slowly began to fall towards the floor. I was 3m away and too far to save it. Long story short, my precious bounced off the floor and snapped at the neck. The bond between a man and his favourite guitar is strong, so that was pretty crushing.