Why Don't You Shave With A Straight Razor?

I have an artist club straight razor that I have used a few times. The main reason I don't use it more is the level of focus required. If I make a mistake I'll pay for it a lot more than a safety razor.

I went artist club over a proper straight because the cost (honing stones :() and time to properly hone and strop the blade, wasn't something I could justify.

Lastly I'm not sure if the shave is actually better over a double edge safety. Both have the blade come in contact with the skin. Happy for someone to fill me in.

Back in the days when I worked as a blacksmith, before I started shaving my head, I used a Western kamisori that I made for myself for a few years*. No big deal, it got the job done very well. I don't necessarily agree that it's a superior shave to a good quality DE razor. I think that's largely a myth that SR shavers like to retail to make themselves feel superior. The same trouble spots still needed buffing, and when I started shaving my head on a daily basis, I couldn't justify the amount of time it takes to do a decent job of that with a straight.

To illustrate my point, I suggest using a look at how long it takes a professional barber to do this, and he doesn't have to work blind.

*edit: I couldn't be bothered making scales, or having to manoeuvre them while shaving, so I just wrapped the razor in some gauze when not in use.