Hi all, Im a newbie from Melbourne and just learning a little about DE razors

smitsch

Hi,
My name is Simon and im just learning about DE razors
Ive just bouth a razor from a market and was really keen to know what it is. I thought it was a Gillette but cant pin down a year. Ive attached a pic. Im currently using a cheapy brush, Murker Super blades and Proraso shave cream. Ive just ordered a awesome kit from Mensbiz and should get it this week. There will be lots to learn along the way so im sure ill read lots and ask lots.
Thanks,
Simon

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    23.3 KB · Views: 16
Hey Mate! Welcome again.

I'm not a guru on dating razors, but @Mark1966 is one such person to ask.

My guess is that it is more likely a German-made travel open comb. Likely to be 1930's to 40's. Merkur makes a modern version of this travel razor - the Merkur 985. There were a few different companies making similar travel razors. Here's some discussion on them.

Did it come in a little metal box? I have a very similar razor. [emoji106]

It did come in a silver box, and a silver (metal) blade holder.
There's nothing quite like finding a vintage razor out in the wild. You get a rush of excitement. It's a piece of history that you can connect with and it's still just as great to shave with as it was when first made.

Wet shaving is such a wonderful connection from the present to the past. Good quality stuff lasts; razors are one such quality item.

Great find for you. It will probably be the start of many more to come. Vintage and modern DE razors. Vintage and modern DE blades. Soaps, creams and aftershaves (modern and vintage). Have fun and enjoy the journey!

Hi Simon welcome welcome!

My first piece of advice is not to sign up for any shaving gear sabbaticals that may be coming around, you've a lot of things to try!

Great to have new people around. Make yourself comfortable.

Hi Simon. Welcome to The Club. Nice to see another Melbournian amongst this throng.