Site Moderator
Grand Society
2016 Sabbatical Fail
2018 Charity Auction Winner
2019 Charity Auction Winner
2020 Charity Auction Winner
Some of you know that I've got a touch of SBAD :weird:

My latest came in today -

It has been freshly cleaned up and ready for use tomorrow or maybe I'll wait until Father's Day. It is a Simpson B2 in pretty good nick I think with sticker, box and instructions. It is only Pure Badger so we shall see how it goes.

It will take its place on my vanity with its butterscotch cousins -

Simpson M1 Best Badger and an unbranded one labelled 'Best badger' 'London Made' and 'Sterilized'

Don't they all play nicely together

Those Simpson brushes do look very nice. Do they typically clean up well?

Those Simpson brushes do look very nice. Do they typically clean up well?

I'm not a brush expert but these three have come up OK. Another I have a lot of the hair broke while cleaning so there was not much of a knot left :(

I'm not a brush expert but these three have come up OK. Another I have a lot of the hair broke while cleaning so there was not much of a knot left :(

I'd be considering sending it back to Simpson for a re-knot. I don't think a TGN knot would do any butterscotch handle justice.

I'd suggest that any butterscotch brush with a Simpson re-knot would be worth a decent amount of money. You may not get it all back but a TGN knot would be worth zero in a Butterscotch.

I'd be considering sending it back to Simpson for a re-knot. I don't think a TGN knot would do any butterscotch handle justice.

I'd suggest that any butterscotch brush with a Simpson re-knot would be worth a decent amount of money. You may not get it all back but a TGN knot would be worth zero in a Butterscotch.

I got a quote before on the Simpson 41 I picked up. The guide prices for a re-knot by Simpson:

Pure £40.00
Best £50.00
Silvertip £65.00

All plus postage.

So not something I will rush into!

Best £50.00
There's the winner right there!