Restoration - Kamisori Gara (Handle) Sheathing in Rattan Cane

rbscebu

Atherton Tablelands, Queensland, Australia
The intention of this restoration is to sheath the gara (handle) of a Yamamasa kaimisori be wrapping rattan cane around the gara. AS this is my first try at rattan sheathing a kamisori's gara, I will keep it simple.

I started off with the kamisori looking like this:
AqxN2Go.jpg

1ibflV3.jpg

To help protect the gara's steel from moisture, I enamelled it and sheathed is with heat-shrink tubing. The process is covered in this thread:

The kamisori at gthe start of this sheathing project now looks like this:
o6MnfiC.jpg

wfQ4BRN.jpg

About 4 weeks ago, I ordered some rattan cane from China. It arrived in this morning's mail. The rattan is about 10m long x 4mm wide, costing under AU$5 including shipping. This is enough rattan cane for sheathing about 20 kamisori gara so I have plenty to make mistakes with.

The last time that I played with rattan cane was in Eastwood primary school, Sydney when I made a wastepaper basket. I don't remember much about that except that I had to soak the rattan cane in water for about 24 hours before use.

Here is the rattan cane that I have now received.
R8NqxKF.jpg

After studying photos of other rattan sheathed kamisori, I realised that the cane generally used was about 2mm wide. Mine was 4mm wide so I needed to strip it in half. I did this with a cutting board and Stanley (box-cutter) knife.

First I did some measuring of the kamisori and maths determined that I will need about 1m of 2mm wide rattan to sheath the gara. I cut off a little over 1m and commenced to strip it into two pieces each about 2mm wide.

Stripping the rattan to halve its width was not as easy as I thought. I started with some shorter length. The blade wants to follow the grain of the cane. This grain is not always running parallel to the edge of the cane and I was cutting by eye.
ard9eev.jpg