A beginner's journey to straight razors

thorpef1

Hi all.

I was the lucky one to pick up @rbscebu straight razor PIF so I thought why not document my journey and let some others know how it goes (thanks for the idea Richard)

I've been using a DE razor for around 7 years and properly wet shaving the last 1.

With a newborn at home, I may not be able to get as much time to this as liked, but I'll give it my best shot.

Gear:
* T.R. Cadman & Sons full hollow Dutch point straight razor.
* Stonego leather strop (really cheap)
* Titan leather and denim strop (cheap)
* Yaqi rocks 28mm synthetic brush
* Lots and lots of soaps

Reference instructions:

Any questions or comments for improvement, feel free to comment below.

Last edited:
SR number. 1
Date. 16/9/23
Growth. 4 days
Razor. T.R. Cadman & Sons full hollow Dutch point straight razor.
Soap. Ariane and Evans peach and cognac, bowl lathered
Shaved area. All of right cheek. Half of left cheek
Cuts. No cuts or nicks
Observations. Ok, this is my first shave with a straight razor. As you can imagine im pretty cautious and taking things slow trying to get my grip right and understanding how to hold it. I end up shaving 1 1/2 cheeks which I'm happy with, no nicks or cuts . Overall I'm quite happy with how it turned out. I felt I needed to add a little more pressure than I was hoping for. Maybe because there is a few days of growth. Next time try after 1 or 2 days growth. I finish the rest off with my trusty slim/voshkod combo.

Last edited:
SR number. 2
Date. 17/9/23
Growth. 1 day
Soap. Mitchell's wool fat, face lathered
Shaved area. Full face
Cuts. 2 very small weepers on neck, slight rash on right side of neck