What the fuss with new razors over the old ones?

The Kman

Yep, I'm pretty new to all this, so maybe the answer is obvious to everyone else, but I struggle to understand where new razors have a clear advantage over the 50+ year old competition from Gillette; et al.

The design hasn't changed much, if at all, depending on your particular perspective. The major change I see is weight. My '72 Tech weight barely 30 grams, where the Feather AS-D2, which is not that heavy by modern standards, weighs in at 90 grams. Looking at the Merkur Futur, or Rockwell 6S for example, these are massive heavy beasts compared to their 50 year old counterparts.

The only significant advantage I can see to the added weight is to stop the propensity to bounce over dense stubble. For example, the Tech can stutter over the ATG pass around my neck, but the Feather tends to stay flatter. I image a heavier razor will do better here, rather than force you to add pressure to prevent stutter.

Is that it? Maybe a couple of lead fishing weights could transform my $10 razor, rather than spending big on a 6S?!

In short, they don't. The old razors (not all, but many) as just as good as today's examples. Folks go for moderns because they want something modern, not because it's better.

In fact, when it comes to straights, the majority believe that a modern blade cannot compete with a quality vintage blade.

I think some very great improvements have been made, especially to the head design.

In my experience modern razors hold the blade much tighter, which results in greater blade rigidity, less blade chatter and therefore a smoother shave.

Some have achieved this with precision machining while keeping the head flat - Wolfman/BBS-1 and ATT come to mind.

Other by twisting/curving the blade - many of the RazoRock razors do that.

BTW the blade rigidity is IMO also the reason, why single edge razors are so popular with experienced shavers - the blades are thicker and therefore don't chatter.