Why do people choose a DE when a straight shaves better?

I did it all wrong. Started with a shavette, then progressed to a SR, then got curious about DE's, tried it, but ended settling on Straights. If you can shave with a half DE blade shavette, you can shave with anything.

Guys kept on asking me if I am in a fight-club the first few months, but even an old dog can learn new tricks. Blood and pain is a good motivator to focus and do things right, but in reality what looks like a lot of blood are just a few drops.

Worst cuts from a SR were handling it, honing, restoring, and stupidly almost chopping of a finger with a HHT.

I am no expert with a DE, but can get by with my little Piccolo open comb. Cute! I can only grip it with two fingers. For some reason my skin always feel dry after a DE shave.

I did it all wrong. Started with a shavette, then progressed to a SR, then got curious about DE's, tried it, but ended settling on Straights. If you can shave with a half DE blade shavette, you can shave with anything.
I actually think this is the best way to learn as there is a lot less fear with a shavette even if they are harder to use. You said it yourself. if you can shave with a shavette, you can shave with a SR.

I actually think this is the best way to learn as there is a lot less fear with a shavette even if they are harder to use. You said it yourself. if you can shave with a shavette, you can shave with a SR.
I learned the hard way, by trying different things. I remember that I had terrible razor burn from the shavette, that took a few days to clear up. Nobody to couch me and to tell me the basics of blade angle and minimum pressure. Never had those issues with a SR. Biggest challenge with a SR was to learn to get it sharp enough. Started with a 3k/8k cheap stone, and a home-made leather paddle strop with CrOx.