Newbie from Melbourne

saku39

Hi all, Melbournite born and breed. I'm brand new to the wet shaving thing, I've been using the Mach 3 for years. Not ready for the straight but was thinking of dipping my toe in the water with a D/E safety razor.

I've been reading the forums for the last few days and think I'm suffering from information overload! I'd appreciate some advice as to where a good place to start with everything from razors, blades to pre and post shave soaps and everything inbetween.

Obviously as I'm brand new to this I don't want anything that I'm likely to take half my face off haha.

Anyway thanks for having me.

Welcome!
A Murker 34c is a good starter and continues to serve me well. I got mine in a sample pack from Mensbiz which included a brush but I found their superbadger lacking backbone. A sample pack of blades is a must, as was recommended to me, try starting with an Astra. Grab a soap from Anthony at Shaver Heaven. Aussie made, family business and lathers itself.

Gillette FatBoy SET on 3 initially - Semogue 1305 - Vodskhod Blades - L'Occitaine Shave Cream - Floid Blue - Acqua Di Gio Aftershave Balm - Acqua Di Parma Mediterranean Blue.

Last edited:
Brush: Semogue 1250
Razor: Merkur 34C
Blade: Gillette Rubies
Soap: Saponificio Varesino Artic Tundra
Aftershave: Proraso splash
Balm: Nivea sensitive

I base my recommendations on price, performance and ease of use.

Note the brush is boar hair. It does take 15 shaves or so to prepare the brush. Afterwards it is extremely enjoyable.

Welcome @saku39
Regarding where to start. For brushes and soaps I'd start with something that will give you a great lather without much fussing. It's all in the lather.
Shaver Heaven Soaps work very easily, as does Cella. Get a good synthetic brush like a Plissoft (from RazoRock) and you'll be creating great lather in no time.